more news

  1. Saturday 25 March 2017

  2. Thursday 23 March 2017

  3. Wednesday 15 March 2017

  4. 09:32

    Interview: Wehrlein on an eventful winter

    Pascal Wehrlein's off-season was eventful. Having initially been overlooked by Force India, amid questions about his attitude, he then missed out on a seat at…

  5. Sunday 12 March 2017

  6. Tuesday 7 March 2017

  7. 19:06

    Wehrlein relieved by painless F1 return

    Sauber's Pascal Wehrlein says he had "no pain" as he made his Formula 1 return at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on Tuesday, following a lay-off due to a…

  8. 09:52

    Wehrlein back in F1 action at Barcelona

    Pascal Wehrlein has returned to Formula 1 action with Sauber at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, following the back injury he sustained at the Race of…

  9. Monday 6 March 2017

  10. 12:52

    Wehrlein gets green light for F1 return

    Pascal Wehrlein has been given the all-clear to resume Formula 1 duties on Tuesday following the back injury he sustained at the Race of Champions in…

  11. Monday 27 February 2017

  12. 13:58

    Wehrlein hopes to be fit for second test

    Pascal Wehrlein says he will undergo a further medical assessment at the end of the week, which will determine whether he can drive during the second pre-season…

  13. Sunday 26 February 2017

  14. 17:33

    Sauber confirms schedule for first test

    Sauber has confirmed its driver schedule for the opening pre-season test at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. Sauber will field Marcus Ericsson and Pascal…

  15. Friday 24 February 2017

  16. 15:58

    Sauber confirms Giovinazzi for first test

    Sauber has confirmed that Ferrari reserve Antonio Giovinazzi will drive in place of the injured Pascal Wehrlein during next week's opening pre-season test at…

  17. Tuesday 21 February 2017

  18. Friday 17 February 2017

  19. 09:42

    Wehrlein to miss first pre-season test

    Sauber driver Pascal Wehrlein has confirmed that he will miss the first of two pre-season tests at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya with a back issue, after…

  20. Monday 6 February 2017

  21. 17:39

    Sauber confirms Wehrlein medical exams

    Sauber has confirmed that medical examinations of Pascal Wehrlein are "ongoing", following a crash at the recent Race of Champions, amid reports he could miss…

  22. Sunday 22 January 2017

  23. 14:55

    Wehrlein withdraws from Race of Champions

    Sauber driver Pascal Wehrlein has withdrawn from the Nations Cup at the Race of Champions on medical advice following his accident during Saturday's individual…

  24. Thursday 19 January 2017

  25. Monday 16 January 2017

  26. 12:11

    Wehrlein completes Sauber's line-up

    Sauber has announced that Mercedes junior Pascal Wehrlein will represent the team in the 2017 Formula 1 season, alongside Marcus Ericsson, completing the…

  27. Wednesday 4 January 2017

  28. Saturday 24 December 2016

  29. 08:02

    2016 review: Manor's point goes to waste

    GPUpdate.net's 2016 reviews conclude at Manor, which came close to securing 10th with current-spec engines and a new chassis, and housed two Mercedes youngsters…

  30. Tuesday 20 December 2016

  31. 12:22

    Mercedes call delayed by 'complex' talks

    Niki Lauda says Mercedes may not reach a decision over Nico Rosberg's replacement until the end of January, amid "very complex" discussions over the best route…

  32. Tuesday 13 December 2016

  33. 08:42

    Brundle: Wehrlein Mercedes' only option

    Ex-Formula 1 driver Martin Brundle reckons Mercedes will struggle to secure Valtteri Bottas' release from Williams and be left with no choice but to promote…

  34. Sunday 11 December 2016

  35. 13:50

    GPUpdate readers want Alonso at Mercedes

    GPUpdate.net readers believe that Mercedes should try to poach Fernando Alonso from McLaren-Honda to replace the retiring Nico Rosberg in Formula 1 next…

  36. Monday 5 December 2016

  37. 10:32

    Wehrlein 'ready for the job' at Mercedes

    Pascal Wehrlein says he would feel "ready for the job" of replacing Nico Rosberg at Mercedes for the 2017 season, following the World Champion's shock…

  38. Friday 2 December 2016

  39. 15:08

    Overview: Candidates to replace Rosberg

    Following the shock news that Nico Rosberg will retire from Formula 1 with immediate effect, GPUpdate.net looks at the potential candidates who could line up…

  40. Tuesday 29 November 2016

  41. 17:03

    Pirelli concludes 2017 test programme

    Formula 1 tyre supplier Pirelli has completed its planned pre-2017 test programme after Mercedes, Ferrari and Red Bull conducted running at the Yas Marina…

  42. Sunday 27 November 2016

  43. Thursday 24 November 2016

  44. Sunday 20 November 2016

  45. Thursday 10 November 2016

  46. 16:45

    Wehrlein wants to understand SFI decision

    Manor driver Pascal Wehrlein says he is eager to understand why team-mate and fellow Mercedes protégé Esteban Ocon was selected for the vacant Force India…

  47. Monday 31 October 2016

  48. Sunday 16 October 2016

  49. 15:17

    Wehrlein confirms Force India 2017 talks

    Pascal Wehrlein has revealed that he is in talks with Force India regarding a 2017 seat, after the departure of compatriot Nico Hülkenberg last week. Force…

  50. Thursday 13 October 2016

  51. 17:38

    Wehrlein's Pirelli test disrupted by rain

    Pirelli's second day of action at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was disrupted by further wet weather, restricting Mercedes youngster Pascal Wehrlein to…

  52. Saturday 8 October 2016

  53. 13:10

    Ocon disappointed not to beat Sauber pair

    Esteban Ocon was left to rue a mistake on his quickest Q1 run as he felt beating Sauber pair Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr was possible at the Japanese Grand…

  54. 04:03

    Wehrlein set for five-place grid penalty

    Manor driver Pascal Wehrlein is set for a five-place grid penalty at this weekend's Japanese Grand Prix, having taken on a new gearbox after Friday's practice…

  55. Friday 23 September 2016

  56. 06:12

    Mercedes completes 2017 wet-tyre test

    Mercedes completed two days of running on 2017-size wet tyres at Paul Ricard this week, as part of Pirelli's extensive development programme, covering more than…

  57. Tuesday 20 September 2016

  58. 12:34

    Wehrlein surprised to fend off Ericsson

    Manor's Pascal Wehrlein admitted he was surprised to beat Sauber rival Marcus Ericsson after finishing 16th at the Singapore Grand Prix. Manor had been…

  59. Tuesday 6 September 2016

  60. Friday 2 September 2016

  61. 07:28

    Wehrlein reckons Q3 possible for Manor

    Pascal Wehrlein reckons Manor has a realistic chance of fighting for a maiden Q3 outing at this weekend's Italian Grand Prix, on the back of its strong showing…

  62. Wednesday 31 August 2016

  63. Monday 29 August 2016

  64. Saturday 27 August 2016

  65. 06:42

    Wehrlein: Hot weather should boost Manor

    Manor driver Pascal Wehrlein believes high temperatures should suit the team, following an eye-catching display during Friday's second practice session at the…

  66. Friday 26 August 2016

  67. Wednesday 3 August 2016

  68. Tuesday 2 August 2016

  69. Tuesday 26 July 2016

  70. 13:13

    Wehrlein: Mercedes to decide 2017 plans

    Mercedes-backed Pascal Wehrlein says it will be up to the German manufacturer where he races next year, as he focuses on the remainder of his rookie season at…

  71. Thursday 21 July 2016

  72. Tuesday 5 July 2016

  73. Monday 4 July 2016

  74. 16:18

    Winners and Losers: Austrian Grand Prix

    Lewis Hamilton secured his third win of the season in dramatic fashion after a last-lap collision with team-mate Nico Rosberg. GPUpdate.net presents its winners…

  75. 10:22

    Ryan: Point shows Manor is 'serious'

    Pascal Wehrlein's points finish at the Austrian Grand Prix shows that Manor is a "serious" team, and will provide a "huge lift" moving forward, according to…

  76. Sunday 3 July 2016

  77. 17:13

    Wehrlein: Manor point 'very important'

    Pascal Wehrlein says he is aware of how important his maiden points-finish could be after it lifted Manor above Sauber in the standings. Wehrlein starred at…

  78. Saturday 2 July 2016

  79. 16:52

    Wehrlein overjoyed with Q2 showing

    Manor's Pascal Wehrlein spoke of his satisfaction after claiming his best Formula 1 qualifying result to date at the Austrian Grand Prix. Wehrlein progressed…

  80. Friday 1 July 2016

  81. 13:46

    Drivers reprimanded for FP1 incidents

    Manor drivers Pascal Wehrlein and Rio Haryanto and Sauber's Marcus Ericsson have been given reprimands following separate incidents in Friday's first practice…

  82. Sunday 19 June 2016

  83. 07:22

    Wehrlein eyes 'good result' after Q2 push

    Manor driver Pascal Wehrlein believes the outfit can achieve a "really good result" at the European Grand Prix after he and team-mate Rio Haryanto almost made…

  84. Tuesday 14 June 2016

  85. 12:58

    Manor: Floor damage hindered Wehrlein

    Manor Racing Director Dave Ryan says that floor damage on Pascal Wehrlein's MRT05 hampered the German's prospects of beating both Sauber drivers at the Canadian…

  86. Thursday 26 May 2016

  87. 08:36

    Wehrlein downplays 2017 Mercedes chance

    Pascal Wehrlein has insisted that he is not thinking about a Mercedes seat in 2017, despite Nico Rosberg being out of contact at the end of the year. Rosberg…

  88. Thursday 19 May 2016

  89. 07:23

    Wehrlein feels he is ready for Mercedes

    Pascal Wehrlein feels that he would be ready to step up to Mercedes following a surprise test outing for the German team at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on…

  90. Wednesday 18 May 2016

  91. Tuesday 17 May 2016

  92. 09:44

    Wehrlein encouraged by Manor upgrades

    Pascal Wehrlein is confident that the upgrades which Manor brought to the Spanish Grand Prix will boost the team at the upcoming races, despite a difficult time…