more news

  1. Sunday 26 March 2017

  2. Saturday 25 March 2017

  3. 10:00

    Sainz Jr. relieved after Q1, Q2 struggles

    Carlos Sainz Jr. says he was relieved to take eighth on the grid for the Australian Grand Prix after struggling with the balance of his STR12 during the early…

  4. Friday 24 March 2017

  5. Thursday 23 March 2017

  6. Wednesday 22 March 2017

  7. Saturday 18 March 2017

  8. 15:44

    Sainz Jr: 2016 form won't help 2018 talks

    Carlos Sainz Jr. says his eye-catching performances over the course of the 2016 campaign will be irrelevant to Formula 1 teams when they are deciding their…

  9. Wednesday 1 March 2017

  10. Monday 27 February 2017

  11. 19:23

    Sainz Jr. baffled by top-team mileage

    Carlos Sainz Jr. says he "doesn't understand" how Mercedes and Ferrari were able to rack up so much mileage on the first day of pre-season testing in…

  12. Wednesday 8 February 2017

  13. Friday 30 December 2016

  14. 16:22

    Sainz Jr. 'proud' of development in 2016

    Toro Rosso's Carlos Sainz Jr. believes he can be "proud" of his second season in the sport, and feels he developed into a "completely different driver" over the…

  15. Tuesday 20 December 2016

  16. 08:02

    2016 review: Toro Rosso down on power

    GPUpdate.net's team-by-team 2016 reviews continue with Toro Rosso, which was impacted by an early-season driver change, and held back by an old engine, though…

  17. Monday 19 December 2016

  18. 11:32

    Sainz Jr. says RBR/STR seat swap 'tough'

    Carlos Sainz Jr. has admitted that Red Bull's decision to promote Max Verstappen early in the 2016 season was "tough" to take, but feels satisfied with how he…

  19. Thursday 15 December 2016

  20. 09:24

    Red Bull rules out Mercedes/Sainz Jr. deal

    Red Bull team boss Christian Horner has made clear that Carlos Sainz Jr. is not an option for Mercedes, as the manufacturer pushes on with efforts to confirm…

  21. Monday 28 November 2016

  22. 10:34

    Toro Rosso confirms Kvyat gearbox failure

    Toro Rosso confirmed that an ailing gearbox truncated Daniil Kvyat's Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on a difficult weekend for the team. Toro Rosso completed only…

  23. Saturday 26 November 2016

  24. Thursday 24 November 2016

  25. 07:42

    Overview: F1's battles down the pack

    While the attention this weekend will fall on the scrap for the title between Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton, there are several other battles further down the…

  26. Monday 14 November 2016

  27. Friday 11 November 2016

  28. Monday 31 October 2016

  29. 14:14

    Kvyat: No consistency with F1 penalties

    Toro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat criticised the inconsistent nature of stewarding decisions after he was penalised for passing Romain Grosjean off-track during…

  30. Friday 28 October 2016

  31. Monday 24 October 2016

  32. Monday 10 October 2016

  33. Friday 7 October 2016

  34. Thursday 6 October 2016

  35. Tuesday 4 October 2016

  36. 10:12

    Sainz Jr. reveals engine glitch at start

    Carlos Sainz Jr. revealed his build-up to the Malaysian Grand Prix start was "stressful" as his engine stopped on the grid. Sainz Jr. lined up from 16th…

  37. Thursday 29 September 2016

  38. Monday 19 September 2016

  39. 13:16

    Sainz Jr. 'angry' after compromised race

    Carlos Sainz Jr. expressed his anger after his strong qualifying position went to waste with a first-lap collision and subsequent order to pit at the Singapore…

  40. Sunday 18 September 2016

  41. Thursday 8 September 2016

  42. Monday 29 August 2016

  43. 15:12

    Sainz Jr. rues puncture after 'best start'

    Carlos Sainz Jr. says debris from the collisions on the opening lap of the Belgian Grand Prix caused a puncture which forced him out, after making "one of the…

  44. Thursday 25 August 2016

  45. Monday 1 August 2016

  46. Saturday 30 July 2016

  47. 15:39

    Sainz Jr. gets three-place grid penalty

    Carlos Sainz Jr. has been given a three-place grid penalty for the German Grand Prix, after it was deemed that he blocked Felipe Massa in Saturday's qualifying…

  48. Monday 25 July 2016

  49. 16:28

    Winners and Losers: Hungarian Grand Prix

    Lewis Hamilton moved ahead of Nico Rosberg with his fifth win of the campaign, as the Red Bull and Ferrari drivers battled. GPUpdate.net presents its winners…

  50. 10:21

    Toro Rosso wary of McLaren-Honda threat

    Franz Tost has admitted that McLaren-Honda's upward trend is a growing concern for Toro Rosso, as the team looks to defend sixth position in the Constructors…

  51. Saturday 23 July 2016

  52. 16:36

    Sainz Jr. says sixth 'came from nowhere'

    Carlos Sainz Jr. says his sixth-place starting position for the Hungarian Grand Prix "came from nowhere" after a low-key final practice. Toro Rosso's Sainz…

  53. Friday 22 July 2016

  54. Monday 11 July 2016

  55. 09:02

    Sainz Jr. boosted by points-scoring run

    Carlos Sainz Jr. feels that Toro Rosso is moving in the "right direction" after he recorded his fifth points finish in six races in the British Grand Prix at…

  56. Friday 8 July 2016

  57. Monday 4 July 2016

  58. 07:33

    Tost: Sainz Jr. result a 'big success'

    Toro Rosso team boss Franz Tost says that Carlos Sainz Jr.'s eighth-place finish at the Austrian Grand Prix represents a "big success" after the outfit's…

  59. Thursday 30 June 2016

  60. 17:08

    Sainz Jr. sure top team chance will come

    Carlos Sainz Jr. is adamant that an opportunity with a leading Formula 1 team will come, following confirmation that he will remain with Toro Rosso for the 2017…

  61. Wednesday 29 June 2016

  62. 15:50

    Sainz Jr. to stay at Toro Rosso in 2017

    Carlos Sainz Jr. will remain at Toro Rosso in 2017, for what will be a third successive campaign, Red Bull team boss Christian Horner has confirmed, with Daniil…

  63. Saturday 25 June 2016

  64. 09:22

    Feature: Who should partner Vettel in 2017?

    With Nico Rosberg set to extend his stay at Mercedes, the key to this year's driver market appears to revolve around Ferrari driver Kimi Räikkönen. Should the…

  65. Wednesday 22 June 2016

  66. 15:06

    Tost expects STR/Sainz Jr. renewal soon

    Toro Rosso Team Principal Franz Tost says he expects Carlos Sainz Jr. to remain with the outfit into 2017, and hopes a deal with the Spaniard will soon be…

  67. Monday 20 June 2016

  68. 12:32

    STR drivers suffer suspension issues

    Toro Rosso drivers Carlos Sainz Jr. and Daniil Kvyat were both undone by suspension problems at the European Grand Prix, with initial post-race checks hinting…

  69. Sunday 19 June 2016

  70. 13:27

    Sainz Jr., Magnussen get grid penalties

    Toro Rosso's Carlos Sainz Jr. and Renault's Kevin Magnussen have both been hit with grid penalties at the European Grand Prix grid, following gearbox…

  71. Tuesday 14 June 2016

  72. 16:04

    Sainz Jr. compares Baku layout to Macau

    Toro Rosso driver Carlos Sainz Jr. says the layout of the new Baku City Circuit, home to this weekend's European Grand Prix, reminds him of Macau's Guia…

  73. Monday 13 June 2016

  74. 16:02

    Winners and Losers: Canadian Grand Prix

    Lewis Hamilton took back-to-back victories ahead of Sebastian Vettel at the Canadian Grand Prix on a dire day for title leader Nico Rosberg. GPUpdate.net…

  75. 09:37

    Sainz Jr. thrilled with race-day recovery

    Carlos Sainz Jr. expressed his satisfaction after climbing from the penultimate row of the grid to the points-paying positions during the Canadian Grand…

  76. Sunday 12 June 2016

  77. 17:15

    Sainz Jr. gets five-place grid penalty

    Carlos Sainz Jr. has been hit with a five-place penalty for the Canadian Grand Prix, with Toro Rosso forced to change the gearbox in his car after he crashed…

  78. Monday 30 May 2016

  79. 09:08

    Sainz Jr. frustrated to miss 'big points'

    Carlos Sainz Jr. expressed his frustration at missing out on "big points" at the Monaco Grand Prix, as the Toro Rosso driver had to settle for eighth in a…

  80. Friday 27 May 2016

  81. 13:06

    Kvyat feeling 'better and better' in STR11

    Daniil Kvyat says that his feeling at the wheel of Toro Rosso's STR11 is getting "better and better" on a lap-by-lap basis as he continues to adjust to life…

  82. Wednesday 18 May 2016

  83. 11:42

    Key praises 'super smooth' Sainz Jr.

    Toro Rosso technical chief James Key has praised a "super smooth" performance from Carlos Sainz Jr. after the youngster secured the best finish of his Formula 1…

  84. Monday 16 May 2016

  85. 16:16

    Winners and Losers: Spanish Grand Prix

    Max Verstappen stunned the F1 paddock with victory as Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg exited in controversial fashion. GPUpdate.net presents…

  86. Sunday 15 May 2016

  87. 17:34

    Sainz Jr. congratulates Verstappen on win

    Carlos Sainz Jr. has congratulated former team-mate Max Verstappen for winning on his Red Bull debut at the Spanish Grand Prix. Sainz Jr. raced alongside…

  88. Friday 13 May 2016

  89. 07:10

    Sainz Jr. sure Red Bull chance will come

    Carlos Sainz Jr. is confident that he will have an opportunity to graduate from Toro Rosso to Red Bull, despite being overlooked as the operation promoted…