more news

  1. Monday 15 May 2017

  2. 11:20

    Sainz Jr. thrilled by recovery to points

    Carlos Sainz Jr. delighted in his recovery at his home race in Spain to record seventh place, equalling his best result of the nascent 2017 campaign. Sainz…

  3. Sunday 14 May 2017

  4. 09:14

    Kvyat driving with 'absolutely no grip'

    Toro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat says he had "absolutely no grip" as he struggled to 20th and last during qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix. Kvyat, one…

  5. Saturday 13 May 2017

  6. Monday 1 May 2017

  7. 11:10

    Sainz Jr. reckons point was STR's limit

    Carlos Sainz Jr. reckons Toro Rosso extracted the maximum from its package as he rounded out the top 10 in Russia, adding another point to the team's…

  8. Friday 28 April 2017

  9. Thursday 27 April 2017

  10. 14:11

    Drivers offer mixed views over 'shield'

    Formula 1 drivers have offered mixed views over the 'shield' head protection device that could be introduced from the 2018 season, rather than the 'halo…

  11. Tuesday 25 April 2017

  12. Friday 21 April 2017

  13. 15:32

    Kvyat aims for complete home showing

    Toro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat has targeted a more complete performance at his home Grand Prix in Russia next weekend, after mixed showings over the past three…

  14. Thursday 20 April 2017

  15. Monday 17 April 2017

  16. Sunday 16 April 2017

  17. 10:05

    Sainz Jr. annoyed to miss 'great chance'

    Toro Rosso's Carlos Sainz Jr. expressed his frustration after missing a "great chance" to qualify inside the top 10 for the Bahrain Grand Prix due to another…

  18. Sunday 26 March 2017

  19. Saturday 25 March 2017

  20. 10:00

    Sainz Jr. relieved after Q1, Q2 struggles

    Carlos Sainz Jr. says he was relieved to take eighth on the grid for the Australian Grand Prix after struggling with the balance of his STR12 during the early…

  21. Friday 24 March 2017

  22. Thursday 23 March 2017

  23. Wednesday 1 March 2017

  24. Friday 10 February 2017

  25. Sunday 25 December 2016

  26. 09:02

    2016 review: GPU's Winners and Losers

    Nico Rosberg beat Lewis Hamilton to the world title and promptly retired, some drivers starred, while others disappointed. GPUpdate.net presents its winners and…

  27. Tuesday 20 December 2016

  28. 08:02

    2016 review: Toro Rosso down on power

    GPUpdate.net's team-by-team 2016 reviews continue with Toro Rosso, which was impacted by an early-season driver change, and held back by an old engine, though…

  29. Sunday 18 December 2016

  30. 16:22

    Kvyat used F1's summer break to reset

    Daniil Kvyat says he came back from Formula 1's summer break with a fresh approach to racing, after losing his Red Bull seat and struggling to re-adapt at Toro…

  31. Wednesday 7 December 2016

  32. Monday 28 November 2016

  33. 10:34

    Toro Rosso confirms Kvyat gearbox failure

    Toro Rosso confirmed that an ailing gearbox truncated Daniil Kvyat's Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on a difficult weekend for the team. Toro Rosso completed only…

  34. Saturday 26 November 2016

  35. Tuesday 15 November 2016

  36. 13:04

    Kvyat: Toro Rosso can 'surprise' in 2017

    Toro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat reckons that the Italian outfit will be able to "surprise" its rivals on a number of occasions in Formula 1 next season. Kvyat…

  37. Monday 14 November 2016

  38. Tuesday 1 November 2016

  39. 12:14

    Kvyat now four points from one-race ban

    Toro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat is only four points away from a one-race suspension after he collected another penalty point during the Mexican Grand…

  40. Monday 31 October 2016

  41. 14:14

    Kvyat: No consistency with F1 penalties

    Toro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat criticised the inconsistent nature of stewarding decisions after he was penalised for passing Romain Grosjean off-track during…

  42. Monday 24 October 2016

  43. 00:24

    Magnussen penalised over Kvyat pass

    Kevin Magnussen has been given a five-second time penalty for passing Daniil Kvyat off track during the United States Grand Prix, meaning the drivers swap…

  44. Sunday 23 October 2016

  45. 13:38

    Horner: Kvyat deserved another chance

    Red Bull Team Principal Christian Horner says it was "right" to give Daniil Kvyat another opportunity to prove his credentials, following a tricky campaign for…

  46. Saturday 22 October 2016

  47. 15:12

    Kvyat to stay at Toro Rosso for 2017

    Daniil Kvyat will remain alongside Carlos Sainz Jr. at Toro Rosso for the 2017 season, ending speculation over his immediate Formula 1 future, in the process…

  48. 12:26

    Kvyat: Formula 1 doesn't need halo

    Toro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat believes "there's enough safety" in Formula 1, having sampled the halo device for the first time during practice for the United…

  49. Friday 21 October 2016

  50. Wednesday 12 October 2016

  51. 08:42

    Kvyat: I have a lot to give to Formula 1

    Daniil Kvyat suffered a major setback earlier in the season, when Red Bull decided to promote Max Verstappen as part of a dramatic seat swap. After a…

  52. Monday 10 October 2016

  53. Friday 7 October 2016

  54. 09:17

    Toro Rosso explains Kvyat 'octopus' issue

    Toro Rosso has explained that Daniil Kvyat's "octopus" comments during practice for the Japanese Grand Prix were related to tyre degradation. As he worked…

  55. Monday 19 September 2016

  56. 16:40

    Winners and Losers: Singapore Grand Prix

    Nico Rosberg moved back into the championship lead with victory at the Singapore Grand Prix, after fending off Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo. GPUpdate.net…

  57. Sunday 18 September 2016

  58. Tuesday 6 September 2016

  59. Monday 5 September 2016

  60. 16:32

    Winners and Losers: Italian Grand Prix

    Nico Rosberg closed to within two points of championship-leading Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton with victory at the Italian Grand Prix. GPUpdate.net presents…

  61. Saturday 3 September 2016

  62. 07:48

    Tost backs Kvyat to recover past form

    Toro Rosso Team Principal Franz Tost says he expects Daniil Kvyat to return to his "original performance" during the remainder of the 2016 season. Kvyat…

  63. Monday 29 August 2016

  64. 15:12

    Sainz Jr. rues puncture after 'best start'

    Carlos Sainz Jr. says debris from the collisions on the opening lap of the Belgian Grand Prix caused a puncture which forced him out, after making "one of the…

  65. Thursday 11 August 2016

  66. Sunday 31 July 2016

  67. 09:02

    Kvyat bemused by 'never-ending' struggle

    Daniil Kvyat has expressed frustration at a seemingly "never-ending" difficult period back at Toro Rosso, following his demotion from the senior Red Bull…

  68. Monday 11 July 2016

  69. 09:02

    Sainz Jr. boosted by points-scoring run

    Carlos Sainz Jr. feels that Toro Rosso is moving in the "right direction" after he recorded his fifth points finish in six races in the British Grand Prix at…

  70. Friday 8 July 2016

  71. Sunday 3 July 2016

  72. Monday 20 June 2016

  73. 12:32

    STR drivers suffer suspension issues

    Toro Rosso drivers Carlos Sainz Jr. and Daniil Kvyat were both undone by suspension problems at the European Grand Prix, with initial post-race checks hinting…

  74. Saturday 11 June 2016

  75. 12:44

    Tost sure Kvyat can bounce back

    Toro Rosso Team Principal Franz Tost is sure that Daniil Kvyat can bounce back from the disappointment of being demoted by Red Bull and enjoy a strong second…

  76. Tuesday 7 June 2016

  77. 09:52

    Kvyat determined to show true potential

    Daniil Kvyat says he is "even more determined" to show his true potential at this weekend's Canadian Grand Prix, after a pair of challenging races since…

  78. Wednesday 1 June 2016

  79. 14:16

    Kvyat: Errors 'kill' Toro Rosso potential

    Daniil Kvyat says Toro Rosso needs to "gets its s**t together" after problems cost both he and team-mate Carlos Sainz Jr. during last weekend's Monaco Grand…

  80. 10:38

    Kvyat tops penalty charts after Monaco

    Toro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat departed the Monaco Grand Prix with the most penalty points out of the Formula 1 field, after his collision with Renault's Kevin…

  81. Tuesday 31 May 2016

  82. 10:05

    Magnussen: Kvyat 'just lost his mind'

    Renault's Kevin Magnussen says Toro Rosso rival Daniil Kvyat "just lost his mind" when the pair collided at the Monaco Grand Prix. Kvyat was a lap down…

  83. Monday 30 May 2016

  84. 09:08

    Sainz Jr. frustrated to miss 'big points'

    Carlos Sainz Jr. expressed his frustration at missing out on "big points" at the Monaco Grand Prix, as the Toro Rosso driver had to settle for eighth in a…

  85. Sunday 29 May 2016

  86. 17:56

    Kvyat also gets Canada grid penalty

    Toro Rosso's Daniil Kvyat has joined Marcus Ericsson in being hit with a three-place grid penalty for the Canadian Grand Prix, after collisions with Renault…

  87. Saturday 28 May 2016

  88. 18:45

    Kvyat cleared over failed floor test

    Stewards at the Monaco Grand Prix have cleared Daniil Kvyat to start from eighth place on the grid, after Toro Rosso cited floor damage for a failed…

  89. 17:35

    Kvyat's car fails post-qualifying checks

    Toro Rosso has been summoned to the stewards after Daniil Kvyat's STR11 failed post-qualifying checks at the Monaco Grand Prix. Kvyat qualified in ninth…

  90. Friday 27 May 2016

  91. 13:06

    Kvyat feeling 'better and better' in STR11

    Daniil Kvyat says that his feeling at the wheel of Toro Rosso's STR11 is getting "better and better" on a lap-by-lap basis as he continues to adjust to life…

  92. Thursday 19 May 2016

  93. 10:02

    Kvyat: Barcelona test day 'essential'

    Daniil Kvyat says his extra day of running at the post-Spanish Grand Prix test was "essential" to help him get to grips with Toro Rosso's package, after being…

  94. Monday 16 May 2016

  95. 10:47

    Kvyat enjoys 'positive' race on STR return

    Daniil Kvyat described his first race back at Toro Rosso as a "positive" all-round experience, as he battled his way to a points finish at the Spanish Grand…