In photos: Title comebacks to give Vettel hope

In photos: Title comebacks to give Vettel hope

Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel finds himself 28 points down on Mercedes rival Lewis Hamilton after a dramatic Singapore Grand Prix, with only six rounds remaining. GPUpdate.net looks back at some of the biggest title turnarounds in F1 history, referencing the deficits with the same number of races left to run. Read more…

more news

  1. Wednesday 20 September 2017

  2. Monday 18 September 2017

  3. 16:00

    Singapore Grand Prix: Winners and Losers

    Lewis Hamilton took a giant leap towards the title with victory on a circuit expected to favour Ferrari, after a dramatic first lap. GPUpdate.net presents its…

  4. Sunday 17 September 2017

  5. 17:42

    Alonso reckons podium finish was possible

    McLaren-Honda's Fernando Alonso reckons a podium finish was possible in the Singapore Grand Prix, had he escaped the first-lap drama at Marina Bay. Alonso…

  6. 08:26

    Alonso wants to see 2018 Renault data

    Fernando Alonso says he wants to understand more about the capability of Renault's power unit before he commits to McLaren for 2018. Alonso is out of…

  7. Saturday 16 September 2017

  8. 17:02

    Alonso: McLaren must now 'complete job'

    Fernando Alonso expressed satisfaction at McLaren-Honda's qualifying performance in Singapore but says the team must now "complete the job" by scoring…

  9. Friday 15 September 2017

  10. 16:23

    McLaren to focus efforts on Alonso deal

    McLaren will now switch its attention to securing Fernando Alonso's services for 2018, having clarified its engine situation, according to boss Zak…

  11. Thursday 14 September 2017

  12. Tuesday 12 September 2017

  13. Monday 4 September 2017

  14. Sunday 3 September 2017

  15. Saturday 2 September 2017

  16. Friday 1 September 2017

  17. 09:31

    Honda confirms 35-place drop for Alonso

    Honda has confirmed that Fernando Alonso's grid penalty for the Italian Grand Prix will amount to 35 places, after the latest Spec 3.7 engine was fitted to his…

  18. 07:02

    Alonso rejects Spa withdrawal accusations

    McLaren-Honda's Fernando Alonso has dismissed speculation that he retired from the Belgian Grand Prix once it was clear that he was not on course to finish in…

  19. Thursday 31 August 2017

  20. 16:34

    Alonso: Me or Honda ultimatum 'not true'

    Fernando Alonso has slammed reports that he has given McLaren an ultimatum of choosing between him and engine partner Honda for the 2018 campaign. Alonso is…

  21. 15:40

    Honda settles on 'Spec 3.7' for FP1 test

    Honda has confirmed that it will run a 'Spec 3.7' engine in Fernando Alonso's car during first practice for the Italian Grand Prix, having evaluated whether to…

  22. 12:59

    Honda pondering 'Spec 4' engine for FP1

    Honda is pondering whether to trial its 'Spec 4' engine during practice for the Italian Grand Prix, with the latest development now on the table after it missed…

  23. Wednesday 30 August 2017

  24. 13:04

    McLaren braced for 'tough' Monza weekend

    Fernando Alonso says McLaren is expecting a "tough challenge" at the Italian Grand Prix this weekend, with its struggles set to be accentuated due to Monza's…

  25. Monday 28 August 2017

  26. 15:19

    Honda saw no engine issue on Alonso's data

    Honda chief Yusuke Hasegawa says there was nothing on Fernando Alonso's data to suggest that he suffered a power unit-related problem during the Belgian Grand…

  27. Sunday 27 August 2017

  28. Saturday 26 August 2017

  29. Thursday 24 August 2017

  30. 16:27

    Alonso plays down Honda's updated PU

    Fernando Alonso says the update Honda will introduce at the Belgian Grand Prix is "very minor" and does not expect it to have a seismic impact on the…

  31. Wednesday 23 August 2017

  32. Friday 18 August 2017

  33. Thursday 17 August 2017

  34. 08:42

    Mid-season review: McLaren-Honda's woes

    GPUpdate.net continues its mid-season review series with McLaren-Honda, which has lacked reliability and performance, restricting prospects for driver pairing…

  35. Friday 11 August 2017

  36. Tuesday 1 August 2017

  37. Monday 31 July 2017

  38. 16:22

    Hungarian Grand Prix: Winners and Losers

    Sebastian Vettel overcame a steering issue to head a Ferrari 1-2 finish as the Red Bull drivers collided on the opening lap. GPUpdate.net presents its winners…

  39. Sunday 30 July 2017

  40. 09:02

    Alonso keen to score 'much needed' points

    Fernando Alonso has urged full concentration at McLaren-Honda in order to convert top 10 starting positions into "much needed" points in the Hungarian Grand…

  41. Thursday 27 July 2017

  42. 15:37

    Reaction: Formula 1 drivers on halo device

    Formula 1 drivers were quizzed about the planned introduction of the halo head protection device for the 2018 season during media day at the Hungarian Grand…

  43. Monday 24 July 2017

  44. Wednesday 19 July 2017

  45. Sunday 16 July 2017

  46. Saturday 15 July 2017

  47. 19:16

    Overview: Alonso's 330 lost grid places

    Fernando Alonso's car has racked up 345 places worth of engine-related grid penalties since he returned to McLaren in 2015, when the team reunited with Honda…

  48. 15:47

    Alonso pleased to 'excite' with Q1 show

    Fernando Alonso expressed satisfaction at being able to reward long-suffering McLaren fans by setting the quickest time during Q1 for the British Grand Prix, as…

  49. Thursday 13 July 2017

  50. Sunday 9 July 2017

  51. 14:08

    Verstappen, Alonso rue lap one collision

    Max Verstappen and Fernando Alonso were left to rue an early exit from the Austrian Grand Prix, in a Turn 1 incident triggered by Daniil Kvyat. Kvyat locked…

  52. Saturday 8 July 2017

  53. 09:55

    Alonso reverts to 'Spec 2' Honda engine

    McLaren driver Fernando Alonso has reverted to Honda's 'Spec 2' engine for the remainder of the Austrian Grand Prix weekend, after a problem was detected on…

  54. Thursday 6 July 2017

  55. 16:50

    McLaren pair cautious over 'Spec 3' PU

    McLaren duo Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne have cut a cautious tone over Honda's 'Spec 3' power unit, which will be introduced to both MCL32s at this…

  56. Tuesday 4 July 2017

  57. Friday 30 June 2017

  58. Tuesday 27 June 2017

  59. Sunday 25 June 2017

  60. Saturday 24 June 2017

  61. 10:31

    Alonso's grid penalty now up to 40 places

    McLaren-Honda has confirmed that Fernando Alonso's grid penalty for the Azerbaijan Grand Prix is now up to 40 places, after installing further new power unit…

  62. Friday 23 June 2017

  63. Thursday 22 June 2017

  64. 12:00

    Alonso expects open 2017/18 driver market

    Fernando Alonso says he expects there to be "a lot of changes" in the Formula 1 driver market across the coming months, and he will "stay calm" when making his…

  65. Monday 19 June 2017

  66. Wednesday 14 June 2017

  67. 08:16

    GPU readers tip Alonso to switch to US

    GPUpdate.net readers have tipped Fernando Alonso to leave Formula 1 and continue his career in the United States in 2018, amid McLaren-Honda's troubles. In…

  68. Tuesday 13 June 2017

  69. Sunday 11 June 2017

  70. 22:59

    Brown says McLaren will be 'proactive'

    McLaren chief Zak Brown says the team will be "proactive" in its approach with engine partner Honda, after a late failure cost Fernando Alonso a point at the…