more news

  1. Sunday 26 March 2017

  2. 02:32

    Alonso: McLaren 'better than expected'

    Fernando Alonso says that McLaren-Honda's Australian Grand Prix weekend has gone "better than we'd expected" after pre-season testing. McLaren and Honda…

  3. Friday 24 March 2017

  4. Tuesday 21 March 2017

  5. Thursday 16 March 2017

  6. Friday 10 March 2017

  7. Thursday 9 March 2017

  8. 08:12

    Insight: Alonso loses patience with Honda

    Continued reliability and performance problems have left Honda, and McLaren, on the back foot heading into the 2017 season, a repeat of the previous two years.…

  9. Wednesday 8 March 2017

  10. 18:22

    Alonso: Honda has no reliability, no power

    McLaren driver Fernando Alonso has expressed his frustration over a Honda power unit which has "no reliability and no power", estimating a deficit of 30 km/h…

  11. Saturday 4 March 2017

  12. Thursday 2 March 2017

  13. 08:32

    Honda 'feeling sorry' for McLaren drivers

    Honda chief Yusuke Hasegawa has apologised to McLaren pair Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne over the lack of mileage during testing so far, relative to the…

  14. Tuesday 28 February 2017

  15. 13:11

    More testing trouble for McLaren-Honda

    McLaren-Honda faced further technical problems on the second day of pre-season testing at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, with another power unit change…

  16. Monday 27 February 2017

  17. Sunday 26 February 2017

  18. 08:56

    Alonso gives McLaren MCL32 track debut

    Fernando Alonso has given the McLaren MCL32 its track debut during a filming day at a chilly but sunny Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, ahead of the opening…

  19. Saturday 25 February 2017

  20. Friday 24 February 2017

  21. Tuesday 14 February 2017

  22. 07:32

    'Mercedes should look at Vettel, Alonso'

    Formula 1 World Champion Nico Rosberg reckons Mercedes should look at Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel and McLaren's Fernando Alonso for a 2018 seat, as they enter…

  23. Wednesday 8 February 2017

  24. 14:01

    Montoya: Vettel, Alonso best on F1 grid

    Ex-Formula 1 driver Juan Pablo Montoya has picked out Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel and McLaren-Honda's Fernando Alonso as the strongest drivers on the current…

  25. Monday 6 February 2017

  26. 09:29

    Rosberg wanted Alonso as replacement

    Nico Rosberg has stated that, as a fan, he would have preferred Fernando Alonso to replace him at Mercedes, but admits the team dynamic "wouldn't…

  27. Friday 27 January 2017

  28. 11:24

    McLaren: Alonso 'the best in the world'

    Double Formula 1 World Champion Fernando Alonso is "the best driver in the world" of motorsport and remains fully committed to McLaren, according to Zak Brown…

  29. Monday 19 December 2016

  30. 08:01

    2016 review: McLaren-Honda make gains

    GPUpdate.net's end-of-season reviews continue with McLaren-Honda, which continued to make progress in 2016, as Fernando Alonso returned to his best, and Jenson…

  31. Tuesday 13 December 2016

  32. 13:04

    Alonso says McLaren title 'my only goal'

    Fernando Alonso has insisted that his "only goal" is to claim the World Championship with McLaren-Honda, following speculation linking him to the vacancy at…

  33. Sunday 11 December 2016

  34. 13:50

    GPUpdate readers want Alonso at Mercedes

    GPUpdate.net readers believe that Mercedes should try to poach Fernando Alonso from McLaren-Honda to replace the retiring Nico Rosberg in Formula 1 next…

  35. Friday 9 December 2016

  36. 11:43

    Briatore: Alonso will not leave McLaren

    Flavio Briatore, heavily involved in Fernando Alonso's career, says the Spaniard will not leave McLaren to replace Nico Rosberg at Mercedes for 2017, amid…

  37. Tuesday 6 December 2016

  38. 10:00

    Mercedes considering Alonso for vacancy

    Mercedes boss Toto Wolff has admitted that the team is considering Fernando Alonso as Nico Rosberg's replacement, describing him as "a driver I respect a…

  39. Monday 5 December 2016

  40. 12:39

    McLaren adamant Alonso will not leave

    Fernando Alonso will not be leaving McLaren to replace the retiring Nico Rosberg at Mercedes for the 2017 season, according to the team's new Executive…

  41. Sunday 4 December 2016

  42. 16:14

    Alonso samples Honda's RC213V at Motegi

    McLaren driver Fernando Alonso completed laps on Repsol Honda's title-winning RC213V MotoGP bike during the Japanese manufacturer's 'Thanks Day' at…

  43. Friday 2 December 2016

  44. 15:08

    Overview: Candidates to replace Rosberg

    Following the shock news that Nico Rosberg will retire from Formula 1 with immediate effect, GPUpdate.net looks at the potential candidates who could line up…

  45. Tuesday 29 November 2016

  46. 11:36

    Capito hopes Alonso extends McLaren deal

    McLaren's Formula 1 Chief Executive Officer Jost Capito says he hopes Fernando Alonso will seek to extend his stay with the team beyond the end of his current…

  47. Monday 28 November 2016

  48. Saturday 26 November 2016

  49. 17:31

    Alonso: McLaren pace 'extremely positive'

    Fernando Alonso says McLaren can target a points finish at the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix after he qualified in ninth position. Alonso was only 13th…

  50. Thursday 24 November 2016

  51. 07:42

    Overview: F1's battles down the pack

    While the attention this weekend will fall on the scrap for the title between Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton, there are several other battles further down the…

  52. Monday 21 November 2016

  53. 10:46

    Alonso hints at switch to WEC after F1

    McLaren driver Fernando Alonso has indicated that he will embark on a chapter in the World Endurance Championship when he brings his Formula 1 career to a…

  54. Monday 14 November 2016

  55. Tuesday 8 November 2016

  56. 16:02

    Button hopes for points return in Brazil

    Jenson Button is hopeful that McLaren-Honda will be competitive enough to return to the points at the Brazilian Grand Prix, after a disappointing visit to…

  57. Sunday 30 October 2016

  58. 09:22

    Alonso: 11th a 'dream' for race strategy

    Fernando Alonso has described 11th as a "dream" position to start the Mexican Grand Prix, given that he will be on the clean side of the grid, with free choice…

  59. Monday 24 October 2016

  60. Sunday 23 October 2016

  61. 23:31

    No further action over Alonso/Massa clash

    No further action will be taken over the clash between Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa in the closing stages of the United States Grand Prix, it has been…

  62. 14:24

    Alonso: Q2 exit means McLaren can attack

    Fernando Alonso says that his exit from the second segment of qualifying for the United States Grand Prix means he will be able to attack midfield rivals during…

  63. Saturday 22 October 2016

  64. 10:22

    Alonso backs Hülkenberg's move to Renault

    Fernando Alonso has backed Nico Hülkenberg's upcoming switch to Renault, describing it as a "very good decision" for both parties, which could even lead to a…

  65. Monday 10 October 2016

  66. 09:12

    Alonso: McLaren pace a 'nasty surprise'

    Fernando Alonso has described McLaren's pace at the Japanese Grand Prix as a "nasty surprise" as it slumped to a low-key result on a difficult weekend for the…

  67. Saturday 8 October 2016

  68. 09:32

    Alonso says Suzuka marks 'step backwards'

    Fernando Alonso reckons the Japanese Grand Prix marks a "step backwards" for McLaren-Honda after the team's qualifying struggles. Alonso could only manage…

  69. Thursday 6 October 2016

  70. Wednesday 5 October 2016

  71. 08:48

    McLaren hopes to build on Sepang form

    McLaren Racing Director Eric Boullier is hopeful that the outfit can replicate its Malaysia form at the Japanese Grand Prix this weekend, home to power unit…

  72. Monday 3 October 2016

  73. 16:44

    Winners and Losers: Malaysian Grand Prix

    Daniel Ricciardo returned to the top step of the podium by leading a Red Bull 1-2 at Sepang as Lewis Hamilton dramatically retired. GPUpdate.net presents its…

  74. Sunday 2 October 2016

  75. Saturday 1 October 2016

  76. 07:18

    Alonso's penalty increases with new parts

    Fernando Alonso's grid penalty at the Malaysian Grand Prix has increased to 45 positions after McLaren-Honda elected to fit new power unit components prior to…

  77. Friday 30 September 2016

  78. 13:15

    Alonso boosted by McLaren improvements

    Fernando Alonso was left boosted by McLaren's progress after an encouraging pair of practice sessions for the Malaysian Grand Prix. Alonso clocked the fifth…

  79. Thursday 29 September 2016

  80. 08:28

    Alonso to trial upgraded Honda engine

    Fernando Alonso will test an updated engine during practice for the Malaysian Grand Prix, as Honda works through its final development tokens, a move that will…

  81. Sunday 18 September 2016

  82. 17:11

    Alonso briefly thought of podium finish

    Fernando Alonso says he fleetingly dreamt of a podium finish but accepted McLaren achieved the maximum result as he placed seventh in Singapore. Alonso…

  83. Friday 16 September 2016

  84. 20:16

    Alonso: Lack of grip restricting McLaren

    Fernando Alonso reckons an overall lack of grip is hindering McLaren's pace in Singapore and is expecting a tough challenge in order to make it through to…

  85. Tuesday 6 September 2016

  86. Monday 5 September 2016

  87. Sunday 4 September 2016

  88. 10:04

    Alonso excited by Vandoorne partnership

    Fernando Alonso says that he is excited by the prospect of racing alongside Stoffel Vandoorne in 2017 and also hailed current McLaren team-mate Jenson…

  89. Saturday 3 September 2016

  90. Monday 29 August 2016

  91. 16:04

    Winners and Losers: Belgian Grand Prix

    Nico Rosberg took his sixth victory of the season from pole position while Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton recovered to third. GPUpdate.net presents its…

  92. Sunday 28 August 2016

  93. 17:32

    Alonso: Spa showing was 'unthinkable'

    Fernando Alonso says McLaren-Honda's performance at the Belgian Grand Prix, which yielded a Q3 appearance and points, was "unthinkable" just a few months…

  94. 09:58

    Honda confirms 60-place penalty for Alonso

    McLaren engine supplier Honda has confirmed that Fernando Alonso will take a 60-place penalty for Sunday's Belgian Grand Prix, after moving on to a third new…

  95. Tuesday 28 March 2017

  96. 01:00

    Find out how Fernando Alonso is giving back to his community with a karting campus and museum.