Formula E reveals Santiago circuit layout

Formula E reveals Santiago circuit layout

13 October 2017 – Formula E organisers have revealed the track layout for the inaugural Santiago ePrix, alongside a demonstration run on the streets of Chile's capital.

Formula E's demo car toured around the city on Thursday morning, making a pit-stop at La Moneda Palace and O'Higgins Park, with local hero Eliseo Salazar behind the wheel.

After this, the circuit plan, subject to FIA homologation, was unveiled in front of an audience of local authorities and key dignitaries, including Chilean President Michelle Bachelet.

Starting on Avenue Santa Maria, drivers will pass Parque Forestal, against the backdrop of Cerro San Cristobal and Santa Lucia Hill, cross the River Mapocho and race through Plaza Italia.

Coming in at 2.47km, the circuit consists of 12 turns.

Alberto Longo, Co-Founder & Deputy CEO of Formula E, said: "It's an honour to join President Bachelet for the first appearance of Formula E on the streets of Santiago.

"For the people of Chile, it's the first time they've seen and heard the fully-electric car in their home city.

"The racing and competition this year is going to be closer than ever and we can't wait to see the drivers battle it out around this new and challenging circuit in February.

"South America is steeped in motorsport history and tradition, and Formula E will make its own history in Chile for many years to come, starting this coming season."

Chile will host its first ePrix on February 3.

related

Comments

more news

  1. Sunday 28 January 2018

  2. Saturday 27 January 2018

  3. Friday 26 January 2018

  4. Thursday 25 January 2018

  5. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  6. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  7. Monday 22 January 2018

  8. Sunday 21 January 2018

  9. Saturday 20 January 2018

  10. Friday 19 January 2018

  11. Thursday 18 January 2018

  12. Wednesday 17 January 2018

  13. Tuesday 16 January 2018

  14. Monday 15 January 2018

  15. Sunday 14 January 2018

  16. Saturday 13 January 2018