Rosenqvist hails Mahindra, plays down title lead

Rosenqvist hails Mahindra, plays down title lead

14 January 2018 – Mahindra's Felix Rosenqvist praised his squad for a pre-race battery change at the Marrakesh ePrix, which he went on to win, and played down moving into the lead of the Formula E standings.

Rosenqvist, having been promoted to the top step of the podium in Hong Kong after Daniel Abt's exclusion, maintained third off the line, behind Sébastien Buemi and Sam Bird.

Rosenqvist overhauled Bird mid-distance when the DS Virgin racer was hindered by gearbox woes, and reeled in Buemi after the pit stop phase.

Rosenqvist launched a move into Turn 7 with a handful of laps remaining to prise the lead away from Buemi, and went on to record back-to-back wins.

"This is definitely a team triumph," said Rosenqvist.

"There was an issue with the battery in my second car before the race, and the guys had to change it in record time during the first stint.

"I didn't even know if the second car would be ready once I came in, but thankfully it was.

"We're just getting stronger and stronger at the moment and I'm really excited for the rest of the campaign."

Rosenqvist's triumph elevated him to the top of the Formula E standings, four points clear of Bird, but the Swede played down his early advantage.

"It's cool to lead the championship, but it's still very early days and I take it race by race," he said.

"I came third last year as rookie and our aim is to fight for the title this season, but it's important to focus on the right things at the right moment and not get carried away."

related

Comments

more news

  1. Saturday 24 February 2018

  2. Thursday 22 February 2018

  3. Wednesday 21 February 2018

  4. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  5. Monday 19 February 2018

  6. Sunday 28 January 2018

  7. Saturday 27 January 2018

  8. Friday 26 January 2018

  9. Thursday 25 January 2018

  10. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  11. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  12. Monday 22 January 2018

  13. Sunday 21 January 2018

  14. Saturday 20 January 2018

  15. Friday 19 January 2018

  16. Thursday 18 January 2018