Audi's Müller tops Formula E's rookie test

Audi's Müller tops Formula E's rookie test

14 January 2018 – Audi's Nico Müller clocked record pace as he comfortably topped Formula E's one-day rookie test in Morocco.

Formula E organised the test for drivers without experience in the series, with all 10 teams fielding two drivers at the Marrakesh circuit.

Müller, who represents Audi in DTM, wound up with a 1:19.651, setting a new lap record in the process.

Müller's time ensured he finished 0.946s clear of reigning Formula V8 3.5 champion Pietro Fittipaldi, who linked up with Jaguar for the test.

Maximilian Günther (Dragon) and Paul di Resta (Jaguar) finished third and fourth respectively, ahead of Techeetah's James Rossiter.

Daniel Juncadella was sixth for Mahindra, as Ferrari Formula 1 reserve Antonio Giovinazzi finished seventh for DS Virgin Racing, the pair split by just 0.002s.

Andrea Caldarelli hit the wall during the morning session but recovered to place eighth, ahead of Joel Eriksson (DS Virgin) and Prema-bound F2 racer Nyck de Vries (Audi).

De Vries completed only minimal running after further technical problems for Audi, coming off the back of Lucas di Grassi failing to score in Saturday's event, his third issue in as many races.

related

Comments

more news

  1. Saturday 24 February 2018

  2. Thursday 22 February 2018

  3. Wednesday 21 February 2018

  4. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  5. Monday 19 February 2018

  6. Sunday 28 January 2018

  7. Saturday 27 January 2018

  8. Friday 26 January 2018

  9. Thursday 25 January 2018

  10. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  11. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  12. Monday 22 January 2018

  13. Sunday 21 January 2018

  14. Saturday 20 January 2018

  15. Friday 19 January 2018

  16. Thursday 18 January 2018