New York becomes FE finale after Montreal axe

New York becomes FE finale after Montreal axe

20 January 2018 – New York will host the final round of this year's Formula E championship after series organisers opted not to replace the ditched Montreal event.

The respective cities both joined the schedule in 2016/17 with each event hosting two races, and Montreal installed as the season finale.

The approach was set to be repeated in 2017/18, but Montreal's newly-elected mayor scrapped the event, amid criticism from locals, speculation over misused finances, and low ticket sales.

A proposal to shift the event from the centre of the city to the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve was a no-go, with the island venue set to start construction work immediately after the Canadian Grand Prix.

As a result, Formula E will not replace the two-race round, with New York now installed as the season finale in mid-July, and the calendar reduced from 14 to 12 races.

It is the second major in-season calendar change after officials brought back the Punta del Este event to replace the postponed Sao Paulo round.

Mahindra's Felix Rosenqvist currently leads the standings after taking two wins from three races.



more news

  1. Saturday 24 February 2018

  2. Thursday 22 February 2018

  3. Wednesday 21 February 2018

  4. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  5. Monday 19 February 2018

  6. Sunday 28 January 2018

  7. Saturday 27 January 2018

  8. Friday 26 January 2018

  9. Thursday 25 January 2018

  10. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  11. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  12. Monday 22 January 2018

  13. Sunday 21 January 2018

  14. Saturday 20 January 2018

  15. Friday 19 January 2018

  16. Thursday 18 January 2018