Where to watch Formula 1 on TV in 2017

Where to watch Formula 1 on TV in 2017

19 March 2017 – The opening round of the 20-event Formula 1 season takes place at Melbourne's Albert Park next weekend, but where can you watch on TV this year? GPUpdate.net provides a quick lowdown.

For the United Kingdom, Formula 1 broadcasting will once again be shared between Sky Sports F1 and Channel 4, the terrestrial channel having taken over the same arrangement from BBC Sport at the start of 2016. The current deal runs for another two seasons, before Sky Sports' exclusive contract begins in 2019.

Sky Sports F1 will show all 20 races, qualifying and practice sessions live on its dedicated channel, with the usual pre/post show build-ups, and other dedicated programmes. David Croft and Martin Brundle will continue to provide commentary, with technical expert Pat Symonds joining fellow pundits Damon Hill, Johnny Herbert, Anthony Davidson and Paul di Resta, while Simon Lazenby has been kept as anchor, alongside other presenters Ted Kravitz, Rachel Brookes and Natalie Pinkham.

Channel 4 will show 10 events live – including practice and qualifying sessions – with the remaining 10 to be highlights only, as per the arrangement used since 2012, when the BBC scaled back its coverage.

Events in Bahrain, Russia, Monaco, Azerbaijan, Britain, Belgium, Singapore, Malaysia, USA and Abu Dhabi will be shown live, with highlights from qualifying and the races of the other rounds being broadcast later in the afternoon or evening.

As per 2016, Steve Jones will anchor the coverage, with Ben Edwards as lead commentator, and punditry/co-commentary from David Coulthard.

TV broadcasters (note: live content may vary, and channels may vary depending on each broadcaster):
United States – NBC Sports Network
Canada – RDS, TSN
Australia – Fox Sports, Network Ten*
Austria – ORF, Sky Sport Austria
Belgium – RTBF La Deux/Sporza**
Denmark – TV3+
Finland – MTV Max
France – Canal+
Germany – Sky Sport, RTL
Hungary – M4 Sport
Ireland – Sky/C4, Eir Sport 1
Italy – Sky Sport, RAI*
The Netherlands – Ziggo Sports
Russia – Match TV
Spain – Movistar F1, La 1 TVE***, TV3****
Sweden – Viasat Motor
Brazil – Globo, SporTV
Japan – Fuji TV
Latin America – Canal Latin America F1
Middle East/North Africa – beIN Sports
New Zealand – Sky Sport

*Mixture of live/highlights
**Belgian GP live only
***Spanish GP live only
****Catalonia only, Spanish GP live only



more news

  1. Wednesday 22 November 2017

  2. Tuesday 21 November 2017

  3. Monday 20 November 2017

  4. Sunday 19 November 2017

  5. Saturday 18 November 2017