McLaren 'stronger' after flyaways - Boullier

McLaren 'stronger' after flyaways - Boullier

10 October 2017 – McLaren Racing Director Eric Boullier says the outfit has emerged "stronger" from the recent flyaway events, despite missing out on points on Honda's home soil in Japan.

Stoffel Vandoorne captured back-to-back points finishes in Singapore and Malaysia, with at least one car figuring in the Q3 shootout at each Asian event.

McLaren failed to score at Suzuka, with Vandoorne's race compromised by being edged wide at Turn 1, and Alonso coming home in 11th, having started at the back.

Despite not classifying in the top 10 last time out, Boullier says McLaren has been boosted by its display across the past three events.

"After the difficulties of qualifying, Fernando drove with fearsome commitment, but was unlucky to walk away without a point, despite a stirring chase of Felipe [Massa]," said Boullier.

"Stoffel's race was compromised at Turn 2, when he was pushed down the order after being hit by Kimi [Räikkönen].

"But that's what happens in racing, sometimes, and he too pushed hard for the remainder of the afternoon.

"Still, on the whole, this Asian triple-header has been a positive one for the whole team.

"We've scored some useful points, and I certainly think that we come out of it stronger as a team than when we went in.

"We'll definitely put that momentum to good use and we'll push hard in these final four races with a renewed momentum and confidence."

McLaren holds ninth position in this year's Constructors' Championship.

related

Comments

more news

  1. Sunday 28 January 2018

  2. Saturday 27 January 2018

  3. Friday 26 January 2018

  4. Thursday 25 January 2018

  5. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  6. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  7. Monday 22 January 2018

  8. Sunday 21 January 2018

  9. Saturday 20 January 2018

  10. Friday 19 January 2018

  11. Thursday 18 January 2018

  12. Wednesday 17 January 2018

  13. Tuesday 16 January 2018

  14. Monday 15 January 2018

  15. Sunday 14 January 2018

  16. Saturday 13 January 2018