Horner keen to 'shut to book' after drama

Horner keen to 'shut to book' after drama

27 October 2017 – Red Bull team boss Christian Horner says he is keen to "shut the book" after Max Verstappen's apology for his reaction to being penalised after the United States Grand Prix.

Verstappen grabbed third from Kimi Räikkönen on the final lap of the race but was given a five-second penalty for leaving the track and gaining an advantage, pushing him back to fourth.

As he spoke to the assembled media, Verstappen slammed "one idiot steward", and then a "mongol" (in a Dutch interview), referring to regular FIA steward Garry Connelly.

Ahead of this weekend's Mexican Grand Prix, Formula 1 Race Director Charlie Whiting said of Verstappen's reaction: "It's not appropriate and we're discussing things with him.

"It would be nice if he was to apologise for using inappropriate language."

Verstappen stated during Thursday's press conference in Mexico City that he "could have used a few different words", but stopped short of an apology, before eventually posting one online.

"Further to what I said during the FIA press conference, I would once again apologise for the language that I used following the US Grand Prix," he said via Instagram.

"My comments were made in the heat of the moment, I know that the words I used were inappropriate and they were not directed at any one person.

"I certainly did not mean to cause any offence."

Horner has backed Verstappen, after he reacted "in the heat of the moment", and is keen for the apology to be accepted, with a line drawn under the matter.

"Look, he's apologised, he's put it out there," Horner told Sky Sports.

"He's apologised for the inappropriate language he used, which in the heat of the moment is understandable. It's not acceptable, what he said, but we've heard many drivers do that, very publicly.

"It's sport, it's high emotion, it's high adrenalin, they're passionate about what they do, and they have a microphone rammed in front of them as soon as they take their helmet off.

"He's said some things that were inappropriate that he's clearly apologised for."

When it was put to Horner that an apology on social media was not enough, he replied: "He's said it twice in that statement – Max has been clear in his position.

"They're highly passionate about what they do, they're very consumed in what they're doing, and sometimes emotions overrun, and sometimes inappropriate language is used.

"Max has vented some frustration in post-race interviews, which he's apologised for, and I think it's time to shut the book on it and to move on."

related

Comments

more news

  1. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  2. Monday 19 February 2018

  3. Sunday 28 January 2018

  4. Saturday 27 January 2018

  5. Friday 26 January 2018

  6. Thursday 25 January 2018

  7. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  8. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  9. Monday 22 January 2018

  10. Sunday 21 January 2018

  11. Saturday 20 January 2018

  12. Friday 19 January 2018

  13. Thursday 18 January 2018

  14. Wednesday 17 January 2018

  15. Tuesday 16 January 2018

  16. Monday 15 January 2018

  17. Sunday 14 January 2018