Alonso: Lack of power was 'amazing'

Alonso: Lack of power was 'amazing'

12 November 2017 – McLaren's Fernando Alonso labelled Honda's lack of straight-line speed as "amazing" and says the situation is "quite worrying" for Toro Rosso, after he finished eighth at the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Alonso moved up to fifth position on the opening lap at Interlagos but was overhauled by Felipe Massa along the pit straight, following an early Safety Car period.

Both Massa and Alonso dropped behind the recovering Lewis Hamilton and Daniel Ricciardo, as the pair embarked on a race-long scrap for what turned out to be seventh.

Alonso remained within a few seconds of Massa throughout, but was unable to pass the Williams driver, and in turn only narrowly preserved eighth against the charging Sergio Pérez.

Alonso once more issued a critique of Honda, which will power Toro Rosso next year, in the wake of McLaren's decision to switch to Renault.

"We had a fantastic car all the race through but we could not overtake," said Alonso.

"The lack of power was amazing, the same in Mexico.

"I was very close to Felipe out of the last corner a few times and thought, 'now is the time I will pass him', but even with DRS he was pulling away.

"The lack of power is quite worrying for Toro Rosso next year."

Alonso was nonetheless encouraged by McLaren's pace throughout the weekend.

"For us, it's a happy weekend," said Alonso.

"We started sixth, were fifth in the first corner, and then we finished in the points... overall the best weekend so far and I'm quite happy.

"Renault is the best engine company in the last 15 or 20 years, so I think we should not worry."

Stoffel Vandoorne retired on the opening lap after making contact with Kevin Magnussen.

related

Comments

more news

  1. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  2. Monday 19 February 2018

  3. Sunday 28 January 2018

  4. Saturday 27 January 2018

  5. Friday 26 January 2018

  6. Thursday 25 January 2018

  7. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  8. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  9. Monday 22 January 2018

  10. Sunday 21 January 2018

  11. Saturday 20 January 2018

  12. Friday 19 January 2018

  13. Thursday 18 January 2018

  14. Wednesday 17 January 2018

  15. Tuesday 16 January 2018

  16. Monday 15 January 2018

  17. Sunday 14 January 2018