Grosjean reckons puncture led to collision

Grosjean reckons puncture led to collision

13 November 2017 – Romain Grosjean believes that a puncture from Turn 1 contact led to his collision with Esteban Ocon on the first lap of the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Haas driver Grosjean lost control of his car through Ferradura, while running side-by-side with Ocon, and slid into his Force India rival.

Ocon suffered terminal damage, and pulled off track later in the lap, with Grosjean going on to place 15th out of 16 finishers, two laps down.

Grosjean claimed that his car took a hit at Turn 1, with start replays showing that his rear-left tyre was tagged by Stoffel Vandoorne's front wing.

He was nonetheless given a 10-second penalty by the stewards, which he reacted to with surprise over the team radio when informed by his engineer.

Reflecting on events, Grosjean commented: "The only thing I can say about the opening lap is that I got massively hit in Turn 1.

"I believe I had a puncture on the rear left; I got to Turn 6 and lost the car, and I think it was just the puncture.

"Getting a penalty on top of that – I'm not super happy with it."

Ocon suffered his first retirement in Formula 1 as a result of the contact, and his first in single-seater racing as a whole since 2014.

"I knew this day would come at some stage, but I wasn't expecting it to be [here]," he said.

"There was nothing I could do; Romain lost the car in Turn 6 and crashed into me. He made a mistake and I suffered from it.

"My front wheel rim was damaged, so I couldn't even drive back to the pits.

"It's frustrating because the car was quick."

related

Comments

more news

  1. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  2. Monday 19 February 2018

  3. Sunday 28 January 2018

  4. Saturday 27 January 2018

  5. Friday 26 January 2018

  6. Thursday 25 January 2018

  7. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  8. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  9. Monday 22 January 2018

  10. Sunday 21 January 2018

  11. Saturday 20 January 2018

  12. Friday 19 January 2018

  13. Thursday 18 January 2018

  14. Wednesday 17 January 2018

  15. Tuesday 16 January 2018

  16. Monday 15 January 2018

  17. Sunday 14 January 2018