Ultra Softs preferred for Abu Dhabi GP

Ultra Softs preferred for Abu Dhabi GP

14 November 2017 – Formula 1 drivers have overwhelmingly preferred the Ultra Soft tyre for the final round of the season in Abu Dhabi, with Pirelli revealing their compound choices.

The tyre company has selected its three softest compounds, the Ultra Soft, Super Soft and Soft, in order to cope with the demands of the Yas Marina Circuit.

Of their 13 available sets, all bar the Renault drivers have selected either nine or 10 batches of the purple-banded Ultra Soft, continuing the typical 2017 trend.

As per usual, one set of Ultra Softs must be cast aside for use only in Q3, while either the Super Softs or Softs must be run for a stint of the 55-lap Grand Prix, assuming dry conditions prevail.

Pirelli is to introduce a new pink-banded compound in 2018, after complaints that its 2017 range were too hard, having adopted a conservative approach in the wake of the sport's new regulations.

Fans have been asked to decide on its name: The Mega Soft, Extreme Soft or Hyper Soft.

related

Comments

more news

  1. Thursday 22 February 2018

  2. Wednesday 21 February 2018

  3. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  4. Monday 19 February 2018

  5. Sunday 28 January 2018

  6. Saturday 27 January 2018

  7. Friday 26 January 2018

  8. Thursday 25 January 2018

  9. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  10. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  11. Monday 22 January 2018

  12. Sunday 21 January 2018

  13. Saturday 20 January 2018

  14. Friday 19 January 2018

  15. Thursday 18 January 2018

  16. Wednesday 17 January 2018

  17. Tuesday 16 January 2018