Gasly labels Brazil GP as 'best performance'

Gasly labels Brazil GP as 'best performance'

14 November 2017 – Toro Rosso's Pierre Gasly called the Brazilian Grand Prix his "best performance" of his nascent Formula 1 career after claiming 12th position.

Gasly made his Formula 1 debut in Malaysia, finishing 14th, and followed it up with 13th in Japan and Mexico, either side of his abortive Super Formula title challenge.

Gasly started from the back of the grid, due to a 25-place penalty, but rose up the order early on, amid drama elsewhere, and ultimately finished in 12th spot, behind Renault pair Nico Hülkenberg and Carlos Sainz Jr.

"I think it's definitely our best race and best performance since I arrived in Malaysia," said Gasly.

"It's true that we knew it would be a difficult race starting from P19 with the penalties, but I think in the end it was really positive coming back from 19th on the grid.

"We knew the start was the key, after watching races from the past few years, if we wanted to have a decent race, so I went on the outside into Turn 1, which worked out pretty well.

"I overtook maybe three cars at Turn 1 then one at Turn 2, then after all the mess in front of me I stayed flat out and just tried to avoid everyone.

"In terms of performance, we extracted everything we could.

"At the beginning of the first stint I was staying quite close to Carlos and then after that I picked up the pace, but we were quite limited with the tyre degradation.

"In the end I don't think we could have done much better than what we did."

Team-mate Brendon Hartley, having lost radio communication early on, suffered with high oil consumption in his STR12, before the problem ultimately forced him to retire.

related

Comments

more news

  1. Thursday 22 February 2018

  2. Wednesday 21 February 2018

  3. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  4. Monday 19 February 2018

  5. Sunday 28 January 2018

  6. Saturday 27 January 2018

  7. Friday 26 January 2018

  8. Thursday 25 January 2018

  9. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  10. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  11. Monday 22 January 2018

  12. Sunday 21 January 2018

  13. Saturday 20 January 2018

  14. Friday 19 January 2018

  15. Thursday 18 January 2018

  16. Wednesday 17 January 2018

  17. Tuesday 16 January 2018