Stroll left to rue 'tough' weekend amid issues

Stroll left to rue 'tough' weekend amid issues

15 November 2017 – Lance Stroll described his Brazilian Grand Prix as a "tough weekend" after he suffered a series of issues en route to finishing as the final classified runner.

Stroll suffered a gearbox problem during the final practice session, damaging his power unit, meaning Williams had to revert to a previous unit, which was down on performance.

Stroll was eliminated from Q1 and a gearbox penalty dropped him one position to 16th on the grid, from where he stalled, slipping to the rear of the field.

The 19-year-old circulated in the lower end of the midfield group for the bulk of the race, and suffered a flat spot in his attempt to overhaul Haas rival Romain Grosjean.

The tyre eventually delaminated, forcing Stroll into the pits again, and meaning he came home a twice-lapped 16th.

"Everything has been bad this weekend," said Stroll, who slipped behind team-mate Felipe Massa in the Drivers' Championship, after the Brazilian finished seventh.

"It was very hard for me, because with the power unit we changed to after a problem in FP3, we had no qualifying mode, so I was running the old spec power unit and was losing time, lap after lap.

"I then stalled at the start and just couldn't compete. I had a flat spot and I knew there was going to be a problem.

"I had Grosjean on old tyres, I had DRS but I didn't have enough drive to get alongside him so I had to dive and then you risk a flat spot and that is just what happened.

"All in all, it has been a tough weekend and now I am just looking forward to Abu Dhabi."

related

Comments

more news

  1. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  2. Monday 19 February 2018

  3. Sunday 28 January 2018

  4. Saturday 27 January 2018

  5. Friday 26 January 2018

  6. Thursday 25 January 2018

  7. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  8. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  9. Monday 22 January 2018

  10. Sunday 21 January 2018

  11. Saturday 20 January 2018

  12. Friday 19 January 2018

  13. Thursday 18 January 2018

  14. Wednesday 17 January 2018

  15. Tuesday 16 January 2018

  16. Monday 15 January 2018

  17. Sunday 14 January 2018