In photos: Indianapolis 500 Spotter's Guide

In photos: Indianapolis 500 Spotter's Guide

19 May 2017 – A field of 33 is set to take to the starting line for this year's Indianapolis 500, with qualifying to run tomorrow (Saturday). provides a guide to the different paint schemes up and down the paddock.

1. Simon Pagenaud / Penske / Chevrolet

Reigning IndyCar champion Simon Pagenaud will be unmissable in his Menards-backed fluorescent Penske as he chases a maiden triumph at the Brickyard.

2. Josef Newgarden / Penske / Chevrolet

Josef Newgarden has switched to Penske for this season, surely providing him with his best chance yet of emerging victorious at the event.

3. Hélio Castroneves / Penske / Chevrolet

Three-time champion Hélio Castroneves has shirked his usual scheme to run this retro gold approach.

4. Conor Daly / Foyt / Chevrolet
14. Carlos Muñoz / Foyt / Chevrolet

Both regular Foyt racers will use the usual red-blue-white ABC-backed livery, Conor Daly in the No. 4 and two-time runner-up Carlos Muñoz in the No. 14.

5. James Hinchcliffe / SPM / Honda

Last year's pole-sitter James Hinchcliffe, who was seriously injured in a 2015 practice crash, is running a gold/black approach.

7.  Mikhail Aleshin / SPM / Honda

Russian racer Mikhail Aleshin, team-mate Hinchcliffe, is embarking on his third Indy 500.

8. Max Chilton / Ganassi / Honda

Former Formula 1 driver Max Chilton will run deep blue for Ganassi in his second Indy 500.

9. Scott Dixon / Ganassi / Honda
10. Tony Kanaan / Ganassi / Honda

The withdrawal of Target means both Scott Dixon (No. 9) and Tony Kanaan (No. 10) will run in the NTT Data blue for Ganassi.

11. Spencer Pigot / Juncos / Chevrolet
17. Sebastian Saavedra / Juncos / Chevrolet

Indy Lights frontrunner Juncos has stepped up for the Indy 500, with these striking green, white and orange cars for young guns Spencer Pigot (No. 11) and Sebastian Saavedra (No. 17).

12. Will Power / Penske / Chevrolet

Will Power has become one of IndyCar's leading racers, racking up wins, but success at the 500 has so far eluded the Australian, who finished runner-up to Juan Pablo Montoya in 2015.

15. Graham Rahal / RLLR / Honda

Graham Rahal will run the 'Steak 'n' Shake' machine in an all-red livery for this year's event.

16. Oriol Servià / RLLR / Honda

There is another Spaniard in the race, whose name is not Fernando Alonso; veteran Oriol Servià has linked up with Rahal, expanding the RLLR squad for the event.

18. Sébastien Bourdais / Dale Coyne / Honda
19. Ed Jones / Dale Coyne / Honda

Dale Coyne has enjoyed a strong start to the IndyCar season and will hope to continue that form into the 500 with Sébastien Bourdais (No. 18) and rookie Ed Jones (No. 19).

20. Ed Carpenter / Ed Carpenter Racing / Chevrolet

Oval specialist Ed Carpenter, who runs his own team, took back-to-back poles in 2013/14, but has secured only three top 10 finishes since his debut in 2004.

21. J. R. Hildebrand / Ed Carpenter Racing / Chevrolet

J. R. Hildebrand, who famously crashed while leading at the last corner in 2011, will run this scheme.

22. Juan Pablo Montoya / Penske / Chevrolet

2000 and 2015 champion Juan Pablo Montoya failed to retain his Penske drive full-time this year but returned for the Month of May and is targeting a third triumph in 2017.

24. Sage Karam / Dreyer & Reinbold / Chevrolet

Sage Karam will use this wild livery for Dreyer & Reinbold, which has now been reduced to an Indy 500-only operation.

26. Takuma Sato / Andretti Autosport / Honda

It's a blue look for Takuma Sato, who came close to victory in 2012 before a last-lap clash while battling for the lead.

27. Marco Andretti / Andretti Autosport / Honda

Can Marco Andretti break the 'Andretti curse', having taken four podium finishes, but never the win?

28. Ryan Hunter-Reay / Andretti Autosport / Honda

2014 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay will be rocking his usual yellow-and-red DHL-backed machine

29. Fernando Alonso / McLaren-Honda-Andretti / Honda

As if it needs saying, it's an orange approach for debutant Fernando Alonso and returnee McLaren.

40. Zach Veach / Foyt / Chevrolet

Newcomer Zack Veach's Foyt machine is a combination of purple and white.

44. Buddy Lazier / Lazier / Chevrolet

1996 champion Buddy Lazier, 49, is back for another tilt, but has completed just one installation lap so far.

50. Jack Harvey / Michael Shank with Andretti / Honda

Pink, yellow and black is the order for Jack Harvey, the Briton one of four rookies on this year's grid.

63. Pippa Mann / Dale Coyne / Honda

Pippa Mann, the only female driver in the field, is back for her sixth Indy 500, in association with the Susan G. Komen foundation, which supports those affected by breast cancer.

77. Jay Howard / SPM / Honda

Briton Jay Howard is back for his first Indy 500 since 2011, having linked up with Schmidt Peterson.

83. Charlie Kimball / Ganassi / Honda

Charlie Kimball completes Ganassi's four-car effort, as he bids to add to his 2015 podium finish.

88. Gabby Chaves / Harding / Chevrolet

Gabby Chaves, who ran for Bryan Herta in 2015 and Dale Coyne last year, is back, having linked up with new squad Harding.

98. Alexander Rossi / Andretti Herta Autosport / Honda

The defending champion will run in the blue and yellow that he adopted in 2016, having coasted his way to an extraordinary win last year, becoming the first rookie to lift the trophy in 15 years.



more news

  1. Tuesday 24 October 2017

  2. Monday 23 October 2017

  3. Sunday 22 October 2017