Márquez hails 'best save' en route to title

Márquez hails 'best save' en route to title

13 November 2017 – Marc Márquez hailed his "best save" of the season en route to securing a fourth MotoGP title, and sixth championship overall, at the Valencian Grand Prix.

Repsol Honda rider Márquez entered the season finale with a sizeable advantage over Ducati rival Andrea Dovizioso, who needed to win the race to keep his title hopes alive.

Márquez led away from pole position, ahead of team-mate Dani Pedrosa, but both were overhauled by the charging Tech 3 Yamaha of Johann Zarco.

Meanwhile, Dovizioso held fifth, tucked in behind team-mate Jorge Lorenzo, who ignored several messages from the Ducati pit wall to move over.

With eight laps to go, Márquez made a move on Zarco into the final corner, but as he started his next lap, he had a wild moment into Turn 1, almost falling.

Márquez somehow managed to keep hold of his bike and stay upright as he skated through the gravel, returning in fifth, and moving back up to third when the Ducatis crashed out.



"I'm living a dream, 'six titles' are big words," said Márquez.

"The truth is that I'm incredibly happy because we worked so much this year, and today the race was incredibly tense and exciting – a bit 'Márquez Style'.

"I made a mistake, but I also made my best save of the year, [and] from that moment on, I just tried to finish the race in a good position.

"The key to the year has been our mentality. In our world it's very important to remain positive and motivated during the difficult moments.

"Some things happened to us at the beginning of the season, but when we found the way to sort things out, everything went better.

"Winning the title at the last race in front of our fans is one of the best things possible, really special.

"Now I want to enjoy this with my entire team and my family, and after that we'll start to work for next year."

Márquez also paid tribute to Dovizioso for his efforts this season.

"I'm sorry that Andrea didn't finish the race, as he deserved to do so," added Márquez.

"He had an incredible season and I would have liked to have him on the podium with me."

related

Comments

more news

  1. Tuesday 20 February 2018

  2. Monday 19 February 2018

  3. Sunday 28 January 2018

  4. Saturday 27 January 2018

  5. Friday 26 January 2018

  6. Thursday 25 January 2018

  7. Wednesday 24 January 2018

  8. Tuesday 23 January 2018

  9. Monday 22 January 2018

  10. Sunday 21 January 2018

  11. Saturday 20 January 2018

  12. Friday 19 January 2018

  13. Thursday 18 January 2018

  14. Wednesday 17 January 2018

  15. Tuesday 16 January 2018

  16. Monday 15 January 2018

  17. Sunday 14 January 2018